mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

A growing journal for a growing bear…

on September 15, 2014

growing journal growing bear learning blog

 

Our little bear has now started school and so, we’ve been given her ‘journal’ from her childminders.

Since she was 8 months old, our bear has been to the childminder’s.  She’s made amazing (quite possibly life-long) friends.  She’s learnt.  She’s grown.  She’s thrived.  She’s become a part of their families in many ways, as they have of hers (and therefore ours).

And here is the folder that shows how much hard work a good childminder does with the little ones they take into their care…

Inside there are reports, pictures coloured in by our bear, paintings, photos, everything but the kitchen sink!  It’s a bit like a ‘This is Your Life’ so far.  And as you can see, it’s absolutely full to the brim!

Have you kept a record (official or not) of your little one’s learning and milestones?  Tell me about it in the comments below 🙂

~

Now you’ve read about my magic moment, hop over to The Oliver’s Madhouse for more.  Just click the badge below!

 

~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding ‘Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

16 responses to “A growing journal for a growing bear…

  1. bettyallonby says:

    We have something like this; I got the idea from a friend who did a folder for both of her children with photos, party invitations, certificates etc. I find it hard to keep on top of it because there’s always something more “important” to do like work, ironing, blogging 😉 but I’m actually taking a step back from the blog for a week or so so I can update it.

    I think me and Gwenn will really enjoy looking through it when she’s older.

    x

  2. That must be so wonderful to look through and have it to treasure. We had a little folder when Boo finished preschool, but she wasn’t there as long, so it’s not bursting to the brim like yours! Hope school is going well x

    • Oh it is Jocelyn. Seeing how her mark making has turned into writing her own name, just to mention one! So precious. School seems to be going down well thanks for asking but I think we will all be ready for theweekend!…

  3. Coombe Mill says:

    Wow, what a full folder, I bet all the things in there bring back memories of when she was really little! Popping in from Magic Moments.

  4. Kim Carberry says:

    Aww! How lovely!
    My girls still have their folders from nursery…It’s such a lovely thing to keep and be able to look at. x

  5. Louisa says:

    What a lovely keepsake for you. I wish I had done something similar for my kids. I started off filling in the red book with every detail imaginable but we each child I filled in less and less as time got shorter. I am using my blog now to capture the memories 🙂

  6. Emily says:

    What a lovely idea, one of our nurseries gave us all the children’s work termly in folders and it was so much better than scraps coming home daily.
    I have all my children’s stuff stuffed into a very disorganised box and it is one of my ambitions once they’re all in school to sit and file it separately by age.

    • Yes scraps of paper which, lets face it often get screwed up and forgotten about, are nice but the journal is the place to be! It’s my intention to scan it all in over the coming months, just in case anything ever happens to it…

  7. Kiran Chug says:

    How wonderful to have been given this! What a thing to treasure. She will love it when she is older too x

  8. My blog is my record really, but they have their memory boxes too. I hope to print out the blog posts with their memories on. this is a fab idea! #magicmoments

Please leave a reply...

