mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

How to turn a cot into a desk ~ a poem!

on September 10, 2014
How to turn a cot into a desk ~ a poem! blog

How to turn a cot into a desk ~ a poem!

Somewhere to learn and to play…

Once upon a time, there was a little bear,

Born 3 weeks early, you were tiny with no hair;

You slept in your cot, through the night give or take

And rarely did you stir, not a noise did you make…

~

The cot was your cousins’ and

Has a tale or two to tell,

Many a time between you all it’s

Heard the ‘odd’ scream or yell!

~

Lost dummies, stuffed teddies

Wedged ‘tween mattress and frame;

I’d nudge your daddy, “Your turn!”,

At least that was my aim!…

~

Fast forward a few years,

And now you’re starting school,

“I know!”, I shrilled, “I’ve had a brainwave!”

(Thanks to Pinterest) and went to fetch the rule…

~

With measurements to hand,

We got some wood chopped and changed,

Then spread a layer or two of blackboard paint,

When dry we re-arranged…

~

…Your playpen came down,

Your baby toys were given away,

Your cot was transformed into a desk,

Somewhere to learn and to play…

~

By Mummy Bear

~~

~~Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding ‘Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

14 responses to “How to turn a cot into a desk ~ a poem!

  1. What a lovely poem, and a lovely tale –
    my daughter’s first bed was made of a beautiful door –
    lovely to up-cycle.
    Hope school is going well!
    Emma 🙂

  2. lifeatthelittlewood says:

    What a fab idea to transform a cot! I love Pinterest, but rarely do I follow through on any ideas! 🙂 Hope your little one has settled into school. And that you have adapted OK too! Xx

  3. mydaysni says:

    A lovely poem and a very good idea! I do like a bit of recycling, thought I am not finished with my cot just yet! I will have to remember this for when I am! #sharewithme

  4. Oh yes, I’ve seen a few of these on Pinterest, too- they look great! Well done you for actually doing it! x

  5. Louisa says:

    How cool to do your post as a poem. I love the idea! Pinterest is fab and a great source of inspiration for me.

  6. Jenny says:

    Fantastic poem. Love it. Pinterest is such a great place to get inspiration. I am obsessed with it.I get so many ideas and get lost for hours on there. lol Thanks for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

  7. Lovely poem, and what an inspired idea to turn the cot into a desk. Such a fantastic way of keeping hold of a piece of furniture which holds so many memories! #sharewithme

Please leave a reply...

