mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

How to give your child a creative outlet

on August 13, 2014

So we’ve let our little bear get creative and paint a mural on her bedroom wall!

She’s constantly colouring and cutting – at home and wherever else she may be!  When we have the time and the opportunity arises, she also loves messy play painting.  Although, it’s getting less messy each time now.  Sign of the times…

Recently, hubby and our bear painted a wall of her bedroom.  She decided on sky blue, so that she could later paint a rainbow, clouds and a flower on it too.

She used to have her own wall space downstairs that she experimented on (we’ve just recently had a decorating splurge so it’s been painted over).   She knew she could colour, paint, do what she wished with that wall, and that wall only.  It was ‘her wall’.  And she never bothered with pushing the boundaries and trying it on any other wall…

Give her an inch and she takes a mile – in the place she knows she’s allowed to… in her own expressive way.  And the result?  A creative outlet for her to be proud of.  And she is very proud of her wall 🙂

Just in case it’s not obvious (!), the above picture shows a finished painting of mummy (that’ll be me then!) and a work in progress of daddy!  (‘I’ was still wet so had no facial features at this point…!)

What creative outlet has your child got?  I’d love to know!

~

Hop over to ‘Share With Me’ with Jenny at Let’s Talk Mommy…

~ Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding ‘Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

4 responses to “How to give your child a creative outlet

  1. Jonathan says:

    I love the way you’ve created a space for your daughter to express herself creatively in this way. Looks like a great idea!

  2. Jenny says:

    What a lovely and creative thing to do for her. I bet she LOVES her wall and is so very proud of it. I always think if they have a space then they really leave the others alone. My kids were always getting into the kitchen cabinets and I hate baby proofing them so I never did. I was told just make one cupboard theirs and theirs only with toys etc. and it worked they know they can go to that one open it and play while I cook and leave all the other ones alone. Giving them their own space. Think it’s brilliant. Thanks for linking up to Share With Me. #sharewithme

Please leave a reply...

