mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Flexible working starts here!

on August 8, 2014

flexible working starts here parenting blog

 

It’s been a week of new beginnings in the Bear household!  After several weeks of nail-biting meetings with my manager at work and HR, I started my new flexible working hours!  From the minute that I submitted my flexible working application form at work, to the minute I found out that they would meet me half way, I thought of very little else to be honest!  I had to request my new hours because otherwise we wouldn’t have managed to work out the school run in September when a new chapter begins.  So to say that it was a massive relief is, quite possibly, the understatement of the year… Well, that and getting our first choice of school for our little bear 🙂

 

Yes, this was the week that I started my new hours.  The same amount of hours, just different ‘shifts’ without the actual shift work.  If I’m not making much sense, then please forgive me but I’ve spent most of the week waking up, working out what day it, what shift hubby is on, whether I’m starting work at 9 am or later, what time I need to get our little bear off to the childminder…!

 

And now that the week’s over, it’s time for a week off work!  Yippeeeee!

 

How’s your week been?  What word sums it up?  Join in with Word of the Week over at The Reading Residence… 

 

 

The Reading Residence
~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding ‘Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

8 responses to “Flexible working starts here!

  1. That’s great news, so pleased it’s working out for you and Bear, even if you’re totally losing track of the days! Have a lovely week off x Thanks for sharing with #WotW

  2. Ooh a week off work, lovely! Hope you enjoy your time off.
    It’s great that you have managed to work something out with your employer so you can work around school.
    My little girl is starting school this year too, it’s a big change for us all!

  3. Not A Frumpy Mum says:

    Well done on getting flexible working, it can. Must be a huge relief! xx

  4. Wow! Getting what you want is really a nice thing! Goodluck with the new shift and your LO starting school. Mine will start too and we are excited! #wotw

Please leave a reply...

