mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Why I don’t want it to be Friday…

on July 11, 2014
The Reading Residence

I started the week thinking it was ages until Friday.  And for once, I was glad!  Why on earth would I be pleased that Friday was a whole 5 days away??  Well because it’s our little bear’s penultimate week at pre-school.

We’re all very excited about starting big school in September but deep down, I’m trying to stall it.  Just a teeny weeny, incy wincy bit.  As each day has come and gone, I’ve realised that mentally I’m not quite as prepared as I thought I was.

The winding down proper starts next Wednesday with a leaver’s presentation.  I will do my utmost to hold it together but may well have to let it all out after bear bed-time.  Then on Thursday our bear will wear her school uniform to pre-school.  Each morning she opens her wardrobe to choose what to wear and each morning she’s asked if it’s uniform day yet…to which I have to remind her that she can wear it for one day next week and then every weekday in September when school starts!  And boy oh boy, when she dresses herself in that school uniform again.  Well, it’ll be emotional!

Then on Friday of course, it’s the biggie.  The last time we will get ready to go to pre-school.  The last time we will walk through the gate into pre-school.  The last time the gate will be opened into pre-school.  The last time our little bear will get her velcroed name off the ‘register’ board.  The last time she is a little bear.  When I go to collect her, she will be really, truly a big bear.  That’s when I will be taking lots of deep breaths, swallowing and blinking back the tears as I come to the realisation that our little bear is most definitely a big bear….

So, my word of the week with The Reading Residence is ‘countdown’!

Join in…

~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding ‘Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

24 responses to “Why I don’t want it to be Friday…

  1. Oh don’t! My son starts pre-school in September and I’m emotional already. Having already experienced it with my eldest, it’s now my baby boy’s turn. I’m totally with you and sending you hugs and tissues xx

  2. Mummy Tries says:

    I can really relate to this, as my eldest is just finishing reception. Starting school is such a bittersweet milestone! Make the most of the summer holidays is all I can say 🙂 #WotW

  3. Awww it is so sad, I am going to be terrible at all these ‘last times’ x

    • I also tend to think “this is the last time I’ll be walking to pre-school/I’ll be going through the gate/I’ll see the staff” etc. Which might be obvious from reading my poem…!

  4. liquoriceuk says:

    Oh that’s emotional. These little growing up milestones are so very bittersweet. Glad to hear that little bear is excited by it all – but it is hard for mummy bear to see this stage come to an end. Sending you a hug x

  5. I can so relate to this feeling. Our pre-school has been very very kind to us and my son just matured so much cuz of them. Leaving his school with some of this friends there is quite emotional. I am so not looking forward to crying in front of them but I know I will. #wotw

  6. ahhh we are on countdown down here to! My youngest is off to full time nursery in September and it will be the first time in 10 yrs that I dont have a little one at home! #WotW

  7. Kim Carberry says:

    I can so relate to how you are feeling…..My girl finishes primary school next week and I am dreading it! She starts secondary school in September!! Well so long as I get through the leavers assembly….I really don’t think I’m going to be able to hold back on the tears :/
    I hope all goes well for you! xxx

  8. teentweentoddler1 says:

    Aww bless you, I remember this feeling well! Once she’s there and telling you what a great time she’s had you will soon start to feel better about it x

  9. It is bittersweet isn’t it? It was the uniform that got me with my eldest! My younger son starts school after the summer, and actually he is so ready for it that I haven’t felt a pang at all, he is so excited that I can’t be anything but excited for him. I suspect that I will find the lasts harder with the wee girl, as it really will be the last time for me… #WotW

  10. stuckinscared says:

    Oh how I can relate to this (now five times over) – The feelings are much the same from big school to bigger school and Oh my goodness – Wait till they leave home o_O Excellent post, stirred emotion in me I’d (almost) forgotten 🙂

  11. Oh, I hear you! Boo goes 2 days a week, and now has just this Friday left, with includes a leaver’s assembly (will try not to cry!). If only we could stall time, just a little. Hope it’s going well there x Thanks for sharing with #WotW

  12. My little ones are only 2 and 6 weeks but already little signs that they’re growing up can catch me out and make me feel emotional! I’ll be terrible by the time it gets to starting school! I bet Little Bear looks lovely in her new uniform and sending big virtual hugs for Mummy Bear.

    • Aw thanks, I’ve caught the big, virtual hug! Those moments when they take your breath away with what they manage to do, and then you get emotional, are something else aren’t they?!

Please leave a reply...

