mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Rules are meant to be broken ~ let’s can the “can’t”

on June 14, 2014

the prompt rules

You can’t do this.

You can’t do that.

You can’t wear this.

You can’t wear that.

You can’t say this.

You can’t say that.

“Can’t” is a word which I don’t like to hear.  I don’t like to hear it as a person and I certainly don’t like to hear it as a mum.

We want our children to achieve their full potential, right?  Well then, let’s stop telling them “can’t”.

Let’s start telling them “can”.

Our little ones’ brains soak up affirmation, praise and love like a sponge.  It’s a cliche but it’s true.

Our little ones’ brains also soak up negativity as I’ve highlighted in post on my Virtually All Sorts blog and they will usually believe us if we tell them they can’t do something.

Let’s believe in our children and believe that they “can”.  Let’s throw the “can’t” into the proverbial can that is the bin.  The ‘has been’.

What do you think?

Thanks to Sara at MumTurnedMom for giving us this week’s prompt: “Rules are meant to be broken”

mumturnedmom
~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

Thank you.

6 responses to “Rules are meant to be broken ~ let’s can the “can’t”

  1. Astrid says:

    I love your attitude. It’s much more important to reinforce what kids can do than to reinforce the idea that they can’t. #theprompt

  2. Eek, I’m awful for “can’t” and “don’t”. My wonderful sister-in-law taught me how to back off and let the kids have a bit of space to breathe. It’s such a balancing act. Definitely something to think about x

  3. I couldn’t agree more! We should be encouraging our kids, not limiting them x Thanks so much for linking to #ThePrompt x

Please leave a reply...

