mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

As one chapter closes, another one begins…

on May 27, 2014

the theme game beginnings school chapters poem rhyme

Chapters

I love that our bear has

A natural love of books,

And her little place for reading them is

Her bookcase, her nook.

~

Since newborn we’ve read to her,

We’ve got through books galore.

As soon as she could speak she said,

“Mummy, Daddy, I want more!”

~

Then she ‘graduated’ to ‘proper’ books,

With less pictures and more words.

It’s lovely until bedtime…

“I want the whole book!”, can be heard!

~

From the beginning, “Once upon a time…”

Skip some pages, let’s pretend

We’ve read the middle,

Skim read to “The End”!

~

But I love reading with our bear,

And she loves reading too.

With the school ‘chapter’ starting very soon

I’m sure she’ll take the cue…

~

To keep reading, writing, learning,

To seize the 3 R’s with zest.

The beginning, middle, now the end of

Pre-school… ‘big’ school’s coming next!

By Mummy Bear

~

The Reading Residence

Prose for Thought

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

Thank you.

32 responses to “As one chapter closes, another one begins…

  1. So fantastic that she loves books so much – Arthur does too and it’s something I’m definitely keen to encourage! Long may their enthusiasm last 🙂 #thethemegame

  2. Oh, I can so relate to this one! Yep, pretty much everything you said 🙂 Thanks for sharing with #TheThemeGame x

  3. Ah lovely! I sometimes wonder if girls are much more interested in books from the word go than boys. Mine love their favourites but I do a lot less reading with them (particularly during the day) than I used to when JJ was little.

  4. alisimpson1 says:

    Oh I wish my little boy enjoyed books more during the daytime! He loves them before bedtime but I struggle to get him to sit down with me or on his own to look at a book. Hopefully in time it will come. Good luck at big school, that will be us next year! Thanks for sharing. x

    • I’ve just read your ‘about’ section your blog Ali. I hope our little bear’s teacher has the same outlook as you 🙂

      As I’ve just commented to Sam at And Then The Fun Began, I think girls tend to be able to sit still for longer periods of time to enjoy books, particularly at this age.

      • alisimpson1 says:

        Oh bless you, thank you, that’s such a lovely thing to say. And I do agree with you about girls being able to sit for longer. Pre school said the same. Hopefully with daughter will grow up wanting to do that with me! Thank you for your comment. Xx

    • I’ve just read your ‘about’ section on your blog. I really hope our little bear’s teacher has the same outlook on life as you… I’ve just commented to Sam on this post that I think girls tend to be able to sit still more to concentrate. At this age anyway, but then catch up.

  5. Lovely poem. My daughter also loves her books and bedtime is a struggle with ‘just once more!’ She has just started to read to me and her little sister despite not being able to read yet but she knows the stories by heart. #sharewithme

  6. My little girl adores reading and will lie on her bed all day with here books if you let her. Reading is a gift for children and I love that this new world has now opened up for you #themegame x

  7. Oooh big school! Mushroom has a year to go and I’m already thinking the time has gone too fast. He loves books too, will happily sit and ‘be the teacher,’ reading books to his toys. It’s lovely when they have a natural love of words isn’t it?

  8. It’s so lovely when they embrace books isn’t it. It’s my fav way of spending time with my two. Great poem too – so true. #sharewithme x

  9. Jenny says:

    Oh how very exciting for the next chapter in her little life. What a great milestone too. Glad she loves reading we are huge readers in this family. All of us love our nose stuck in a book. Lovely poem. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

  10. Ahhh lovely! My girl loves her books to. I mainly like it when she pretends to read to her brother. She is learning to write at the mo. Well her name. Can’t believe how fast she is growing! #Prose4T xxx

  11. lifeatthelittlewood says:

    Oh bless! How amazing to have an avid reader. All three of mine are the same, although the littlest chooses the same book every time – it gets a bit monotonous at times!! I really loved this – a love of literature obviously comes from her mummy! Xx

    • Yes Emma, there’s no denying that we’ve nurtured it. Hubby’s always thanking me for taking the time out while on mat leave to sit down and read to her. I loved doing it thought, still do 🙂 Here’s hoping that your littlest has a new favourite book very soon 😉

  12. It is brilliant when children love books. I can’t wait to make Baby a reading Nook when she moves into the bigger bedroom x

  13. Emily Page says:

    What a lovely way to mark such an important change in your daughter’s life. Great pace to it. I totally relate to the wanting the whole of a chapter book…! Still do myself if its a good read 😉

  14. Summing up the love of books so perfectly in a poem 🙂 Grace is the same – she loves stories and I take great delight in seeing that she is now reading to herself. Welcome to Prose for Thought and thank you so much for linking 🙂 x

  15. Jewel says:

    Hope she continues to enjoy her books and that her love of reading will help her succeed in her education.

Please leave a reply...

