mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Guilty pleasures…

on May 2, 2014

image

You know that feeling when the little one has gone to bed?  You know that feeling when you just want to flop, have a nice hot cuppa… and a little something nice to go with it?

Well, my ‘something nice’ had become a habit!  It was usually the slice of cake that was still in my work bag that I hadn’t got round toe eating.  Maybe I know deep down that I won’t get a chance to eat it and actually I’m saving it for my ‘something nice’ moment…

My something nice was invariably something that gave me a ‘hit’, something that I gobbled down far too quickly.  Something that in actual fact made me sluggish…

I knew it was time to change my habits.  My friend took up the Couch to 5k challenge and also Sara (the very same MumTurnedMom whose linky this is!) inspired me to get off that couch 🙂

There was just one obstacle.  Little bear was in bed and hubby wasn’t due home from work for another hour.  My enthusiasm would be gone by then.  So I grabbed my earphones and took to the garden instead!  I wouldn’t be beaten.  I’m now working my way through the weeks and you know what?  I’m absolutely loving it AND look forward to my runs.  That’s coming from someone who hated cross country at school.  I love swimming but actually it’s quite pricey.  But running – well it’s free!

So my ‘something nice’ changed from the sluggish cake to the reviving, satisfying run.

That, dear readers, is my something nice, my guilty pleasure, my little bit of me-time and I’m also planning  to run the Race for Life in July!

~

I’ve linked up with MumturnedMom #ThePrompt for this post

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

Thank you.

12 responses to “Guilty pleasures…

  1. Well done! My something nice is that flop on the sofa and a snack. Must try to move it forward! Good luck for Race for Life, too x

  2. Hats off to you – that’s fantastic!
    I SO know that early evening slump feeling…
    What are you doing in the garden to combat it –
    are you running on the spot, or do you have a massive garden?
    Well done, anyway!
    Emma 🙂

  3. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it, and thanks for the mention re running as well as linking to #ThePrompt feeling doubly loved tonight 🙂 You’ll do brilliantly in the Race for Life, I’ve run a few and they are such great events. You’ll deserve a slice of cake after that 🙂

  4. Sounds like you need some cake after all that running, good for you! #ThePrompt

  5. Sonia Lal says:

    I don’t think I could do that.

Please leave a reply...

