mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

“I asked the doctors if I could go home…”

on April 29, 2014

the theme game diary of a complicated pregnancy home

On the cusp of Pre-eclampsia Awareness Month in May, I am sharing a short excerpt of my ebook ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’.  The reason?  Not for self-promotion, I do assure you.  No, with 50% of the sales going to the charity Action on Pre-eclampsia (APEC), it is simply to raise awareness of a pregnancy condition that can and does turn into a serious complication such as HELLP syndrome.  It is also fitting to share this post with The Theme Game this week ~ the theme being ‘home’.  As any new mum will know, the need to be home with a newborn is felt deep in the heart.  To be in hospital when you should be home are the feelings I convey here…

~

As strangely privileged as I was to be on the ward with help and reassurance on tap, I was chomping at the bit and absolutely determined to be at home as soon as possible. I was getting a bit of cabin fever. I also found it difficult that I wasn’t able to walk about on the ward with our little bear. So although I could walk up to the Day Room for a change of scenery, I couldn’t take her with me, unless I wheeled her in her crib. My stomach wasn’t strong enough for that yet. The way I saw it at the time was that most people could hold their baby in one arm or over a shoulder while sorting the milk or washing or just pottering about at home, but I felt like I was missing out by not being able to do that. I have to say though, that I did use up rather a large supply of snacks, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, newborn nappies and cotton wool during our stay!

 

{fast forward to ‘home time’}

 

I asked the doctors if I could go home on the Tuesday because it was the anniversary of a family member’s death. They let me go home and I was so relieved and excited! I was told that the health visitor would come round every day for the next week or so to check my bp.

 

Our bear was put in her brand new, never used car seat. She was so tiny in it! I sat in the back with her while hubby drove very gingerly home, as if he had the best family china in the car. He also had a wife who had just had a c-section in the back… quite a responsibility!

 

I was in a daze the next day after the first night with our newborn bear. By tea time, the health visitor came and took my bp. It was far too high and she told me I had to go back into hospital. I was gutted and I dug my heels in but hubby said I had to go. I didn’t want to leave him or take our little bear with me. This wasn’t a new mum rejecting her baby. I wanted us to be a family at home together. I was told that because I was expressing my milk, our bear needed to be with me.

 

I was in tears.

~

I’m linking up with #TheThemeGame of ‘home’ at The Reading Residence and Redpeffer with this post.

Looking for something new to do?  Join in!

image

Thank you.

12 responses to ““I asked the doctors if I could go home…”

  1. This is a great post! I had Pre-Eclampsia with 2 of my 3 children so I know first hand how horrible it is. I’m off to buy your book now 🙂 x

  2. This must have been so tough. You do just want to be at home starting your new life with your new baby, but it doesn’t always go that way, I know. Thanks for sharing with #TheThemeGame

  3. Goodness me that must have been so incredibly stressful. I hope it helps others by sharing your story. I remember sobbing when I had to leave my then 4 month old to go into hospital for an operation. Absolute agony. Thanks for sharing with #TheThemeGame

  4. I had a freind who was preganant at the same time as me. She was also hospitalised with pre-eclampsia. It’s a horrible condition, and so important to raise awareness of it.
    Emma x.

    • I’m not sure you can actually truly understand how badly it affects families until you’ve experienced it (directly or not) yourself. Like anything in life, I suppose it’s relative if you’ll escuse the pun.

  5. I didn’t ever experience pre-eclampsia, or have a C section but I really understand that feeling of desperately wanting to go home. After giving birth to JJ and experiencing the most wonderful midwives it was such a shock to go onto the post birth ward where the midwives all seem to have Eastern European Prison Warden on their CVs! And it was so desperately noisy and chaotic – the alarm went off in the middle of the night because another woman in the same room was haemorraging and there was blood everywhere! I was desperate not to have to stay another day but they kept me waiting all day the next day because they didn’t see me progressing with breastfeeding. At that point ‘home’ seems like nirvana awaiting! X #thethemegame

    • Yes the noise… One night there was a very colicky baby and the next day matron ordered everyone in bed to rest. The knock on my door to tell me about ‘lock down’ woke me up though!… Home really is where the heart is when in hospital with a newborn, isn’t it?

  6. How terribly hard that must have been, I can vividly remember that desperation to go home. I had c-sections with all three of mine, so have spent 3/4 days in each time watching everyone else arrive and then get to go home! #TheThemeGame

Please leave a reply...

