mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Play is important for mum and baby

on April 8, 2014

the theme game play

When our little bear was just a few months old, we started going to playgroups.  It was great because just a 15 minute walk away was the local Sure Start Children’s Centre.

The staff were great, we sang songs, got very messy and we went to a session pretty much every day.

At the time, I wasn’t sure just how much our little bear was getting out of it at just a few months’ old.  But me – I made new friends, I got out of the 4 walls that can be stifling for a new mum and perhaps more importantly, I realised from talking to other mums that I was completely normal.  I was doing okay and there weren’t really any right or wrong answers.  I still stand by that philosophy and it’s the one piece of advice I would give to any ‘newbie’ – do what’s right for you and your baby.

You see, these playgroups made me feel normal and they were absolutely free!  As our little bear has grown, we still go to playgroups when we can.  The staff have seen her change physically, emotionally… incredibly.

In my opinion, it’s such a very short-sighted knee-jerk reaction to close or at the very least, limit the sessions of centres like these.  Because if playgroups did one thing (okay maybe two), it was help to keep me sane and show me that play is important for mum and baby.

~

I’m linking up with #TheThemeGame of ‘play’ at The Reading Residence and Redpeffer with this post.

Looking for something new to do?  Join in!

image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

Thank you.

16 responses to “Play is important for mum and baby

  1. lifeatthelittlewood says:

    Yes, this is so true! My kiddies are a good bit past this now, but I met such lovely people through my local Mums and Tots group, and they really did keep me sane during those early days! Now it is the school mums in the playground – I think at every stage, our children lead us to new friendships! Lovely post xx #thethemegame

    • Thanks Emma 🙂 It’s definately true that no matter what age our little (or not so little ones are), new friendships spring up. Not trying to be spammy (but hey it’s my blog, so…!) I wrote a post recently ‘That was unexpected’ which was a simple visit to the park and a new friendship!

  2. You’re so right. With Boo, we went to plenty of classes and groups, as much for me as for her! Haven’t really done so with Little Man, though I’ve a few on my list for him when Boo goes off to school in September! Thanks for sharing with #TheThemegame x

    • We ventured out to our local Barnados (used to be Sure Start) just yesterday. Being Easter, I’ve got a week off. It was a bit surreal to be there again because since pre-school started we don’t go, except holidays. It was like we’d never been away after 5 minutes though. Saw some old faces too. So lovely!

  3. Oh, I totally agree with you. There are so many cost cutting measures that to me seem so short sighted and this is a classic example. #TheThemeGame

  4. Helen says:

    My local playgroup was a life saver! These are essential services and as you say it’s so important to talk to other mums too.

  5. I love playgroups. They break up the day. The children have fun and you get to meet other mums. Crazy that they cutting it back x #thethemegame

  6. Tarana Khan says:

    I didn’t join playgroups because there wasn’t one close by, but I did take my little guy to the playground where he was happy, and I connected with other moms! Play is good – for babies and moms too 🙂

  7. My son learned so many things from our playgroup. I dont know much people here as we were new but I met so many mums from there that even if my son is a wee bit big now I still nod at them and have a short chat with these coold moms in the street. I am glad that ive attended these playgroups. #TheThemeGame

  8. You are so very right about the benefits – for parent / carer and child – of playgroups.
    Play is child’s work… how they learn and develop.
    Such an important step, but easily overlooked in this fast moving world of ours!
    Enjoying your blog –
    emma. 🙂

Please leave a reply...

