mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Be wise. Be prepared…

on March 1, 2014

Baden-Powell_ggbain-39190_(cropped) the prompt

Picture source: via wikidpedia

“Seek the wisdom of the ages but look at the world through the eyes of a child.”  Ron Wild

I have very happy memories of being a brownie when I was a little girl.  The pride I felt when I was ‘sworn in’.  The pride I felt when I earnt a new badge (thanks to my Mum for sewing them all on… not sure I ever got the ‘sewing’ badge!).  The pride I felt when I became sixer, top dog, of The Pixies.

As a ‘branch’ of brownies, we were headed up by ‘Brown Owl’ and ‘Tawny Owl’.  No coincidence perhaps that both were owls and both were ‘wise’, seeking ‘the wisdom of the ages’.  What a fantastic concept… one that helped me to learn a little more about the world around me in a slightly different way.   Lord Baden-Powell could have written this week’s prompt but he didn’t… surprisingly.

For this post I’ve linked up with mumturnedmom.com

#ThePrompt

image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

Thank you.

9 responses to “Be wise. Be prepared…

  1. Mummy Says says:

    I was a brownie too- but I was in the Elves. You have brought it all back!

  2. I love how this prompt inspired you! Really interesting comments, and you’re right about brownies/cubs teaching us a lot. Thanks so much for linking to #ThePrompt x

  3. I was a brownie too! I think I was a pixie as well. I think I only ever made it to being a Seconder! I was also a Venture Scout later in childhood/early adulthood – brilliant organisation – my boys will be into the cubs as soon as they turn six whether they like it or not! (only kidding, they will get a say…) It is a great combination of wisdom and childhood, I remember playing lots of games as well as being encouraged to learn and try new things. #ThePrompt

  4. I too was a brownie! It was probably earning my book badge that started my love of reading so I will always be grateful of the things that I learned while being a brownie. #ThePrompt

Please leave a reply...

