mummybearsblog

Blogging all things parenting… and sometimes a bit in between ;)

Let’s not raise a glass…

on February 11, 2014

glass theme game

Picture source: ClassyJewelryByAlena via Pinterest

Let’s not raise a glass.

Why?

Because I’m still teetotal.

Why?

There are a cluster of reasons – the root one being my pregnancy.  Many pregnant women choose to give up drinking when they fall pregnant.  I was no exception.  Admittedly, I used to enjoy a nice glass of full-bodied red or rose.   I soon got out of the habit though, and a habit it was.  Not a bad one that was out of control, but a nice habit to enjoy mainly at the weekends.

My intention once I gave birth had always been to kick back with a nice glass of wine, to savour every deserved mouthful as the flavours swirled over my palate.  That had been my intention but it soon changed when I developed acute pre-eclampsia and HELLP syndrome at 37+1 weeks. I had a complicated pregnancy and it soon got more complicated with the onset of HELLPS.  In case you didn’t know, HELLP syndrome is all to do with blood pressure, liver enzymes and platelets.  In a nutshell, ‘HELLP’ is an acronym that stands for:

Hemolysis (the breaking down of red blood cells)
ELevated liver enzymes
Low Platelet count.
It is a dramatic disorder of the blood and liver and can lead to a potentially fatal liver rupture or stroke if left untreated.

After our little bear was born, I decided that my liver had already taken enough of a battering and made a concious decision not to drink alcohol.  It didn’t take long to get out of the habit; our finances were slightly healthier for it and I felt better for it.  Who wants a hangover with a little one anyway??  Even with Peppa Pig, Humf or the Wiggle dance to fall back on, I don’t think I could stand having them all on a loop with a numb head and a craving for McDonalds but no energy to get one!

Sometimes I fancy a drink, especially a nice glass of rose but I recently saw on a Facebook group that a fellow HELLPS survivor still has issues with her liver enzyme levels.  Why would I want to risk damaging my liver more just for the sake of it?

May 2013 was the last time I drank, at a friend’s wedding.  Before that it was probably the back end of 2010.  Some people may think I’m being over-cautious.  Some people may think I’m being dramatic.  Some people may think I’m being negative.  Some people may think I’m plain daft.  Well, for my own reasons, I say to those people ‘let’s not raise a glass’.

This blog is for #TheThemeGame at The Reading Residence and Redpeffer. The theme this week is ‘glass’.

Looking for something new to do?  Join in!

image

Now that you know why I no longer drink, read my emotional and inspiring true story ‘Diary of a Complicated Pregnancy’. Available now through my website at Virtually All Sorts. 50% of sales to the charity Action on Pre-Eclampsia. …and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @ComplicatedPreg

Also available – my indispensable guide to avoiding Working Mum Guilt’. Whether you are about to return or have already started back, this book offers practical solutions and feedback from real Mums with real families in real situations. Covering topics such as Post Natal Depression, childcare options, yours and your child’s development and time management – Ditch the guilt today! … and visit my facebook page or follow me on twitter @WorkingMumGuilt

Thank you.

23 responses to “Let’s not raise a glass…

  1. mummytries says:

    Firstly I didn’t realise that you also blog at Virtually All Sorts, do you have any other blogs? Secondly, I think it’s admirable to make the decision not to do something and stand by your convictions. It’s no-one else’s business at the end of the day. HELLPS doesn’t sound very pleasant at all, and as you said why take the risk? Does this mean you don’t drink coffee either? I have to say I could take or leave the odd drink these days, but giving up coffee would be a totally different beast for me…

    • Hi there. VirtuallyAllSorts is my only other blog. It all started out there but the parenting side morphed into MummyBearsBlog to separate the writing/publishing posts. It’s worked really well for me (and my lovely followers too, I hope!)
      Hmmm coffee! I had a seriously bad water infection a few years ago which made me go cold turkey on caffeine (ouch!!). It was very hard for a couple of days but made me feel better and less sluggish. So basically, I still have the odd ‘leaded’ coffee but mainly stick to herbal or decaf 🙂 When I have coffee it’s the good stuff with a biscuit for good measure!

  2. I oftem wonder how people to get plastered and then look after their kids the next day. You have to think of your long term health – well done. I do like a glass of wine, but I hardly drink at all these days #TheThemeGame

  3. I cannot conceive of being hungover and looking after my children to be honest. I just couldn’t do it. I admire your strength and having had health issues myself can totally understand your wish to give your body the best chance to stay healthy. I do drink, but very small amounts. I enjoy a small glass of wine over the weekend, but I couldn’t over indulge anymore-I don’t see it as fun, let alone being worth it. Thanks for sharing with #TheThemeGame

  4. I very rarely drink, and that’s always been the case so giving it up during pregnancies and breastfeeding was very easy for me! I probably have 2-3 drinks a year, so not many! I think you should so just what you want to do, and it sounds like you are! Thanks for sharing with #TheThemeGame x

  5. Alice Megan says:

    I don’t understand the whole fascination with alcohol all my friends go out getting smashed constantly whereas I’d rather have a cup of tea!
    If it’s helping your health it’s definitely the way to go

  6. This makes sense. Although I will admit to having a drink after HELLP, I can honestly say I don’t want it nearly as much. I’ve gone from a ‘once or twice a month’ drinker to once or twice a year. I don’t even think I tolerate as much anymore. My poor beaten up liver must be rejecting it!

  7. While I still have a glass of wine or two (!) at the weekends, I drink a lot less now. I’m getting too old to deal with the hangovers, and they are really not worth it. Can’t remember the last time I had one! Small children and a thumping head are not a good combination 🙂 #TheThemeGame
    I also hadn’t realised that you were Virtually All Sorts too!

  8. As you say, it’s nobody else’s business what you choose to/not to ingest. Although, for some reason, alcohol is always a contentious one – when I gave up drinking while trying to get pregnant I was constantly having to justify myself. I think you’ve made a very sensible, and informed decision to do something that will have a huge impact on your health. Congratulations on this, as it can’t always be easy!

  9. Hiya I don’t drink either!! We’re a breed quite few and far between don’t you think? People think I’m weird I’m sure. I’m not teetotal and have had the odd sip (lol) here and there but I just feel that I don’t like that feeling of not being fully in control. Having kids has done that to me and the fact that in the past when I’ve not had over night babysitters and feeling dreadful the day after the night before it has put me off. Makes me feel terribly guilty and I really don’t miss it at all. Good for you x

  10. Oh good for you! I must admit I was a bit of a wild child pre Erin and did enjoy a drink and also used to get wrecked and row with people. Which some friends found hysterical. Now I have cut right back they find me a bit boring. In fact I have probably lost a few chums. But who cares? My priorities have totally changed now like yours xxx

  11. sandradan1 says:

    Carol I don’t drink either any more. Used to do it very well, and still fancy a glass of chilled white especially in the summer. But it makes me ill, and the feeling bad is really not worth it. I feel so much better, three years down the line! SD

  12. […] leveled out.  We were allowed home for good a week later.  It was time for a celebration.  But I still didn’t raise a glass because HELLP syndrome is a potentially very dangerous pregnancy condition.  Find out how you can […]

  13. […] for you too.  With that in mind, I was quite chuffed to acquire a nice wine rack.  Seeing as how I don’t drink any more, I suggested to hubby that we might turn the rack on its side and put plants in the holes. […]

  14. Hi,
    An interesting post and comments –
    I’m with Alice – I’d rather have a cup of tea (herbal!) than ”get smashed’…
    but a question: What’s your drink of preference in the evening, now that you’re no longer one who ‘kicks back with a nice glass of wine’?
    I like very cold fizzy water with lime or lemon – but what do other people enjoy most?
    Look forward to hearing,
    and best wishes to you,
    Emma 🙂

    • Funny, one of my friends posted just the other day that they had run out of squash and had a cold water with lemon and lime. I thought it sounded quite refreshing. At the moment my favourite chill out night time cuppa is either peppermint and nettle, orange/mango and lycee or fennel 🙂

Please leave a reply...

